On Growing Up

As I draw near graduation, I have been increasingly confronted with questions concerning the future. About now is the time many of my friends are proposing to and marrying one other and preparing for a life of adulthood and such.

Now is a crucible in our lives: who are we, what are we doing, and where are we going with our lives?

Now is the moment, so we’re told, we ditch our “childish” dreams and accept the “reality” of adult life. Many of us will graduate, find a job, a wife, 2.5 kids, and a nice home. And for some, that’s a dream come true.

But I’m not one of those people. I have every intention to follow these youthful dreams and accomplish as many as I have time in this life. This is seen as immature, foolish, or naive within our society, but I disagree. For me, that is living.

I want to write. I want to travel the world. I want to make a difference in society through my career. I want a simple apartment, and a constant supply of coffee. And I see no reason why these and more cannot happen.

Graduation and the unknown that lies beyond that day often terrifies me. But then again, I think I prefer it that way.  Without some level of uncertainty, life is nothing more than comfortable stagnation.

And I think this song conveys that well:

“Oh when no ones yet explained to me exactly what’s so great
About slaving 50 years away on something that you hate,
About meekly shuffling down the path of mediocrity
Well if that’s your road then take it but it’s not the road for me”

And lyrics: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/f/frank_turner/photosynthesis.html

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

