Category 5: A Dedication

I had expected a semester of storms, but I never expected this. Life like a hurricane.

This is the most challenging undergraduate academic semester I’ll ever experience.

I’ve completely failed at the balancing act of friends, school, and writing.

I can’t remember the last time I wrote.

I watched, helplessly, as my friends were broken by an outdated, unforgiving system.

I found myself having to remember how to smile as old, mistakenly forgotten companions returned.

All the while, the same expectations held high above me, but there’s little that can’t be covered with a smile.

But hear my clearly, I’m not complaining; I’m not making excuses; I’m simply recording the events as they occur. Life is tragic, but I’ve learned to appreciate the beauty in a natural disaster. If you haven’t noticed, that’s a running theme in this blog.

This is a dedication specifically to a few, but generally to everyone I can call a friend.

Life is a hurricane. The calm is only the center, a temporary peace before the storms again. Life is a continual storm; don’t let that discourage you. When the winds blow and the walls crash around you, stand confident. We humans are not solitary beings; poor is the one who can claim no one ‘friend.’

Life is a storm, and the shelters you built will not survive.  That’s why we live in social villages. When your world is collapsing around you, call on your friends, family—all those that love you. At no point can this world take down all of us. As long as you have friends, you have shelter.

More often than not, the path is not clear, the skies are dark, but “this too shall pass.” The only unforgivable mistake is surrender. Life is a battle, and we will win. Give it time. We may reach the end scarred and exhausted, but we can pass knowing we held our heads high, leaned on one another, and never allowed the storm to overwhelm us.

Whatever you do, don’t try to do it alone. I’ve tried numerous times, and I’m sure I will again, but it never works. Don’t walk the path alone. With the inherent uncertainty of the future, I can’t promise much, except one: you wont be alone.

“Here is the world.  Beautiful and terrible things will happen.  Don’t be afraid.”  ~Frederick Buechner

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

