Persevere

“To succeed is nothing, it’s an accident. But to feel no doubt about oneself is something very different: it is character.” -Marie Leneru

Forgive the cliché, but, in terms of my writing, this week has been one hell of a roller coaster.

The week opened and fell.

I am enrolled in a Writing Fiction, this semester, which is built around the writing of three short stories. This is greatest opportunity I have had in a while to develop my writing and a habit of writing. Although the first of my stories isn’t due for until the end of this month, I decided to set a personal due date sooner, to allow extra time for editing, re-writing, etc.

At the beginning of the week, the story was dead. I was stuck. Every writer has moments of “stuck-ness” but this was different. I wasn’t just at a loss for words; I had plenty of words. No, I realized what I was writing was, simply, terrible. I was discouraged, devastated. Those voices of doubt were feasting on my failure.

“Maybe this just isn’t for you.”

“You would have never made it as a writer anyway.”

“You tried your best, drop the class and forget it.”

When you have nothing left, persevere.

Thursday, I finished my short story.

I could spend the next paragraph explaining how I managed my turn around, but that’s not the point. As always, I use my life, my experiences as examples to demonstrate what I’m describing:

When nothing else remains, persevere.

Everyone has struggles. Through these trials, each person will lose everything, fall to the floor, hit rock-bottom. In those moments, persevere. When you fail and lose all motivation to continue, persevere.

I cannot promise you those struggles will ever end (rather, I can promise you they most likely will never end), but if you continue to fight them, if you wake up again tomorrow and try again, you will succeed. Next week may hold more troubles, but in that day, you will find fulfillment.

Life isn’t easy, but persevere.  And never forget those who will walk with you through it all.

“Live neither in the past nor in the future, but let each day’s work absorb your entire energies, and satisfy your wildest ambition.” -Sir William Osler

Leave a Reply

